The Angelenos, From Prometheus: Cigar And Lighter Review

I have been very happy with this cigar! And what introduced me to tasting this fine cigar was actually the lighter. I first fell in love with the lighter when I discovered it was a flint lighter with a torch flame (every time I am lighting it’s like a little fireworks show, beautiful). At the time it was just before the Angelenos cigars had been shipped or made available at least in my area, and the lighters were a clean solid color with the Prometheus name only. I was about to make my purchase when my tobacconist suggested I wait a few more days.

I’m delighted I did, just a few days later the Angelenos cigars and gift sets arrived. Wow, what a beautiful presentation and a great deal. The set was just ten dollars more than the lighter alone and came with two cigars. I like the design with the Angelenos name printed across and couldn’t pass up the chance for the cigars as well. I didn’t realize how much I would enjoy them either!

I tend to smoke the more medium and full-bodied cigars, though I absolutely adore a mild cigar every now and then. When I do like a mild cigar, there must be some character and complexity- there must be a great taste. And this one delivered it beautifully. The Angelenos has a profile I wouldn’t compare to anything else, it is very unique and very elegant. There is a nice creamy buttery flavor with a pleasant spice through the nose and a hint of sweetness in the finish. Very lovely!

This is a cigar I can enjoy daily and not get tired of as well. I’ve enjoyed it both in the morning and evening hours, though most commonly earlier in the day. It is very quickly becoming a favorite of mine.

The Angelenos is named after the city of Los Angeles and is the newest line from Prometheus, creator of the God Of Fire cigars, and made by Tabacalera A. Fuente y Cia. The Angelenos can be found in four sizes: lonsdale, toro, double robusto, and gran toro. Currently I have only seen the lonsdale and toro sizes released.

I highly recommend you experience a tasting. I think this is a mild cigar with a great complexity all cigar lovers can appreciate. Please share your tasting experiences with me in the comments!

Angelenos Set By Prometheus

Angelenos Cigar And Lighter By Prometheus

12 Comments

  1. Tweets that mention The Angelenos, From Prometheus: Cigar And Lighter Review | The Smoking Hot Cigar Chick -- Topsy.com
    Dec 24, 2009 @ 19:26:54

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by the cigar chick, Cigar News. Cigar News said: Smoking Cigar Chick The Angelenos, From Prometheus: Cigar And Lighter Re.. http://bit.ly/57qotv @cigarchick #cigars […]

  2. Adam
    Dec 24, 2009 @ 23:13:50

    Wow, they do a really nice presentation piece. It’s cool to see you retrohaling the smoke, I’ve gotten to the point where I can’t smoke without doing it. I also tend to gravitate more towards medium to full bodied cigars and will often have a good Connecticut cigar (Camacho Connecticut, Olivia Reserve, Nub, etc.). Maybe I’ll have to try tracking down that Angelenos cigar soon.

    Have a Merry Christmas Teresa,

    Adam

  3. teresa
    Dec 25, 2009 @ 08:54:22

    The set is fairly inexpensive, too, for such a beautiful presentation and quality product. I’m the same way as you with the retrohaling, I cannot smoke without doing it either 😉

    Camacho Connecticut is a fantastic cigar! A favorite of mine when I think of mild cigars- I almost mentioned it in the video, too. Ha, great minds. The new Brittania from Kristoff is a very nice mild smoke as well. In fact, I’ve been thinking of making it one of my next reviews.

    I would highly recommend tasting the Angelenos. I believe it is limited to cigar shops with Prometheus accounts. Anyone who carries God Of Fire would most likely have the Angelenos. They are about $12 to $15 a stick over here and worth it in my opinion. I’m thinking about having one again now, lol. Nom!

    xx

  4. Adam
    Dec 25, 2009 @ 15:01:35

    Ouch. Well I can’t complain, the Camacho Liberty goes for $15. But yes, Camacho’s new connecticut cigar is hands down my favorite connecticut so far. I think God of Fire is around $20 here in PA. It’s a good possibility that the Angelenos cigar would be higher in price if I could find them, not to mention the shop I go to (Cigars Intl.) jacked up the price on OpusX cigars. As if they weren’t expensive enough 🙁

  5. teresa
    Dec 25, 2009 @ 18:15:00

    I think God Of Fire goes for about the same price here, so you may be in luck. Angelenos isn’t as expensive as them- that I do know. If you can find the set it’s a deal- the flint torch lighter on its own goes for $75, but the set has the limited edition design with two cigars for only $85.

    They just moved the price up? Fortunately I haven’t seen any of that here.. everyone has been keeping them at the price (if they have them), no unnecessary mark ups, but some limits per customer. I’ve been enjoying more anejos lately just because of it. It’s been a wonderful Christmas 🙂

    But I must admit I missed my chance on the Lost City! Grr… I saw them and decided to go the next day… all the boxes were gone.

  6. uberVU - social comments
    Dec 25, 2009 @ 21:42:29

    Social comments and analytics for this post…

    This post was mentioned on Twitter by CigaRSS: Smoking Cigar Chick The Angelenos, From Prometheus: Cigar And Lighter Re.. http://bit.ly/57qotv
    @cigarchick #cigars…

  7. Adam
    Dec 25, 2009 @ 22:27:39

    That cigar (OpusX) specifically is just sold at ridiculous prices in certain places, not necessarily everywhere. Good luck finding them at list price. I haven’t seen any overall markups since the SCHIP tax was enforced. I’m a little worried about the proposal of more taxes on cigars. We’re being taxed for enjoying a hobby…madness!

  8. Samuel Spurr
    Jan 23, 2010 @ 02:41:09

    Nice Review. Similar flavours picked-up in when I lit up the Lonsdale.

  9. Nicholas
    Jan 23, 2010 @ 23:02:05

    Nice review of the Angelenos. I picked one up about a month ago at the recommendation of my cigar shop owner–it was $13. She thought I’d really like it because she knew I enjoyed the Oliva Connecticut Reserve and she was spot on (although I also smoke more med-full sticks now, more and more Cuban). In the final third of the Angelenos (lonsdale size), I thought it was the butteriest and creamiest smoke I’ve ever had. The butter flavor was almost overwhelming and I remember thinking ‘how did they do that?’ Super smooth and full of flavor even though it is a milder stick. Also pretty rare–I think this is the first review I’ve seen of it. Keep up the great reviews!

  10. prioduboppino
    Mar 17, 2010 @ 11:00:25

    Enjoying reading the posts here, thanks.

  11. Bev
    Jul 16, 2010 @ 19:01:36

    I one must say I always love seeing all the photos you include in your reviews. They always really add and help the reader(us) see it all! But thanks for another great review. This sounds so appealing i’m looking forward to trying it out.

  12. James Dolby
    Jan 13, 2013 @ 23:58:01

    The Lakers (14-14) won their fifth consecutive game Louis Vuitton On line to move back to .500 for the first time since Nov. 30. With a win against the Denver Nuggets on Wednesday, Los Angeles would be above .500 for just the second time this season.Los Angeles trailed 80-79 with nine minutes to play before going on an 8-0 run. Bryant scored six points in that span, and the Lakers never trailed again.Bryant topped the 30-point Louis Vuitton On line \keywords4.txt,1,S] mark for the ninth straight game as he hit 14 of 24 shots from the field, including 6-of-10 shooting in the first quarter, when he had 13 points. The Lakers turned to Metta World Peace in the second quarter, and he had 16 of his 20 points in that period, including three 3-pointers.With World Peace on his game, Los Angeles went big for most of the matchup, and they used their bulk to deal New York (20-8) its third loss in five games. The result was a reversal of the team’s first matchup, the Lakers’ last loss, when New York took the 116-107 win at Madison Square Garden on Dec. 13.Los Angeles held the Knicks to 42.7 percent shooting, and New York hurt its cause with 9-of-16 free-throw shooting.Carmelo Anthony led New York with 34 points on 13-of-23 shooting, but the Knicks’ other four starters combined for just 28 points while making 13 of 34 attempts from the field. J.R. Smith added 25 points off the bench for the Knicks, but had a plus/minus rating of minus-18. The rest of the New York bench added just seven points.The Lakers were similarly lopsided, as World Peace accounted for 20 of the team’s 23 bench points.With point guard Steve Nash back in the lineup Louis Vuitton Outlet for just his second game back Louis Vuitton Borse from a long layoff, Los Angeles was able to rely on its starters. Nash had 16 points, 11 assists and six rebounds in nearly 38 minutes. Dwight Howard finished with 14 points and 12 rebounds, and Pau Gasol added 13 points, eight rebounds and six assists.NOTES: The game pitted the two teams that have played the most on Christmas Day, with the Knicks making their 47th Christmas appearance and the Lakers their 38th. … Bryant ranks second all time in Christmas Day assists with 81, fourth in steals and second in 3-pointers made. Bryant is not the only Laker with lofty Dec. 25 stats: Nash ranks 13th in assists per game on Christmas, and Howard ranks third in blocks, third in blocks per game and 10th in rebounds per game. … Nash missed more than a month and a half with a fracture in his left leg. … The teams split the season series in 2011-12, but Los Angeles is 8-2 against New York in the teams’ past 10 meetings.

Leave a Reply

*